driving down the 101

I woke up this am with a sore throat. I had no idea why. Oh, right – I’m working three jobs and in school with 16 credits and not getting everything done. Silly me! Of courses you’re sick!

Then I realized that it may not be sick.

How? Why?

The fires…

These images are from around S. California – that’s what is the air is like. That is what people are imminently preparing for.

So far, over 1,000 homes have been destroyed. Roads are closeed left and right (well, for me – West, East and South). I live relatively close to the base of a mountain (what, 2 miles)? While nothing is very close, with the way weather has been, who knows?

There are two things I fear – fire and earthquakes. Apparently I moved to the best location for that, huh?

Its not that bad in Pasadena. It could be, though. That’s what’s scary. More scary – the people I know who have loved ones affected.

Pray. Emplore God. And think proactively about how you and your loved ones, your churches, your schools, can help in the aftermath.

In general – it’s a hard world, broken and devastated by so much. Find your niche and support. I don’t care where – but just get involved with something… please.
It’s sad how it takes a fire or devastation to remind us that broken people hould be on our hearts and minds all the time. But the reality is – we are broken, and forget about the others sometimes.

Blessing, friends.

*Images were taken from the KCAL9 viewer slideshow

2 responses to “driving down the 101

  1. I’ve been thinking about you since I heard about the fires. Hope you are safe and are able to breathe okay. Maybe get one of those neat masks to save the lungs??? Seems like many of my close friends are in danger right now. Strange. Stay safe chiquita!!

  2. 3 jobs, 16 credits, and natural disasters….. no wonder I haven’t heard from you lately. Love you much and hoping all is going okay! Give me a call when you get the chance.

Leave a Reply

