when no one seems to change

I’ve learned that it’s never a good sign when I exhibit any one of the following habits:

1) ignore the bank account simply because I don’t have the time to stop and check on it and then frantically worry at random moments

2) ignore faculty on campus because I’m embarrased with a grade, a paper, or any other thing I could simply do stupidly (which obviously runs the full gamut)

3) stop listening to music because it stresses you out that there are so many different things you could listen to/forget you even have a music list

4) carry books around for days/weeks on end with the very intention to read, but don’t even realize they’re all in there

5) lose random things like a) cell phone, b) laptop adapter, c) keys, d) brain and e) tweezers

6) ignore google reader and your favorite blogs for more than 1 day

7) ignore the idea of writing for more than 1 day

8) not worry about returning phone calls because you don’t even have the time to listen to the voicemails

9) sleep on the couch every night for two weeks because every time you sit down when you return from work and are exhausted but overwhelmed by work, you fall asleep

10) forget to grocery shop for 2 weeks because – well, at least the refectory food serves quickly

11) neglect to answer the important e-mails for a while because its easier to ignore than it is to deal with messes

12) prefer to let hair go curly to straight simply because it takes less time in the A.M. (slash I don’t care)

My friends… welcome to my life. But don’t worry, I took care of parts of 11, 10, 9, 6, 3 and 1 in the last 10 minutes of writing this update! 🙂

afterglow – kate york

4 responses to “when no one seems to change

  1. two things: I’m with you on #4. I carry books around all the time and then read them the night before the book review is due.

    Also, I like how #8 turned into a smiley face with sunglasses.

  2. re: #5

    you forgot to include your earring.

  3. Sadly, I, too, do many of these things.

Leave a Reply

